Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about orthotics, orthopedics and pedorthic problems

Orthotics

What is a foot orthotic?

A foot orthosis (or orthotic) is an apparatus that, when inserted into proper footwear, helps to alleviate foot problems caused by disease, congenital defect, overuse or injury.

When is a prescription for foot orthotics needed?

Generally, a prescription in not needed to relieve minor aches or pains. When a medical condition is present in the foot – such as arthritis, diabetes or poor circulation – a prescription is standard.

How does the process work?

  1. Visit your local Footech™ representative for a complete evaluation of your bio-mechanics (walk)
  2. Your Footech™ representative will take a cast or computer-assisted mold of your feet.
  3. Using the mold of your feet, your Footech™ representative will then precision mill your new set of custom foot orthotics and help you properly fit them to appropriate footwear.

Why are custom made orthotics better?

Unlike shoe inserts bought over the counter, custom-made orthotics are medical devices that support and gently reposition the heel, arch, muscles, ligaments, tendons, and bones in the feet, enabling these structures to work together as nature intended, to make each step you take pain-free.

Will I need more than one pair?

That completely depends on your lifestyle. For example, orthotics created for a running shoe would not work in a thinner dress shoe. Hence, materials and configurations vary on how you will use the insole. Since foot orthotics are created for different needs, many people order more than one pair. Just let us know your lifestyle and usage, and we’ll do the rest.

How long will they last?

The lifespan of your custom orthotics depend on your individual life style and wear patterns.

Will my insurance cover custom orthotics and footwear?

Orthotics, appropriate footwear and shoe modifications are not always covered benefits. However, patients may be eligible for partial of full reimbursement for orthotics and footwear prescribed to accommodate or correct a medical condition. Please verify your coverage with your individual insurance provider and plan.

Will my feet hurt at first?

No. Foot orthotics should not create new pain or aggravate existing pain. However, there is always a break-in period for anything new, so they might feel a bit uncomfortable at first. If your orthotics cause you any type of pain, it’s important that you contact your certified professional.

Will my orthotics cause leg and back discomfort?

Some people who are new to wearing orthotics may experience some mild leg or lower back discomfort. This is perfectly normal and is a result of the new realignment of the lower extremities and pelvis. Muscles and ligaments will need time to readjust to improvements in realignment. While many new orthotics users never experience discomfort, those who do usually notice that it disappears within a couple of weeks.

Will I need specialized orthotics for sports?

You can use your new orthotics to enjoy a wide range of activities- including many sports that do not involve excessive impact on the feet. For higher impact sports, Footech technicians can provide specialized sports orthotics developed to fit into a variety of sports shoes.

Pedorthics


What is pedorthics?

Pedorthics (ped-or’-thiks”) is the design, manufacture, modification and fit of footwear, including foot orthoses, to alleviate foot problems caused by disease, overuse, congenital defect or injury.

What is a certified pedorthist?

Acting as part of the allied health care team in an effort to keep people as mobile as possible, a certified pedorthist studies footwear construction and modification, foot orthotic materials and fabrication, and lower extremity anatomy, physiology and biomechanics.

How much does pedorthic care cost?

Pedorthic care, undertaken at the onset of a foot condition, can reduce pain and a later need for hospitalization or surgery. Charges for pedorthic care are based on the footwear, modifications and/or orthotics needed. The cost of pedorthic services and products varies depending on factors like materials used and complexity of the problem(s).

Learn more ... Here's a few articles from our growing knowledgebase

Foire aux questions (FAQ)

Orthèses

Qu’est-ce qu’une orthèse plantaire?

Une orthèse plantaire est un appareil qui, lorsque inséré dans une bonne chaussure, soulage la douleur liée aux problèmes du pied dus à des pathologies, des malformations congénitales et des blessures par surmenage ou autres.

Doit-on avoir une ordonnance pour se procurer des orthèses plantaires?

En règle générale, une ordonnance n’est pas nécessaire pour soulager les maux et les douleurs mineures. Lorsqu’une personne souffre d’une affection du pied, telle que l’arthrite, le diabète ou une mauvaise circulation sanguine, une ordonnance est de rigueur.

Comment faut-il procéder?

  1. Consultez un représentant Footech près de chez vous pour une évaluation complète de votre biomécanique (marche).
  2. Ce dernier prendra l’empreinte de vos pieds.
  3. Ensuite, les orthèses seront fabriquées et ajustées à une chaussure appropriée.

Pourquoi vaut-il mieux porter des orthèses fabriquées sur mesure??

Contrairement aux semelles intérieures en vente libre, les orthèses fabriquées sur mesure sont des appareils médicaux qui supportent et corrigent graduellement la position du pied, des muscles, ligaments, tendons et os du pied, de sorte que le tout fonctionne comme il se doit afin de vous permettre de marcher sans douleur.

A-t-on besoin de plus d’une paire?

Cela dépend entièrement de votre mode de vie. Par exemple, les orthèses conçues pour des espadrilles ne peuvent pas être utilisées dans des chaussures habillées plus étroites. Puisque les orthèses plantaires sont conçues pour différents besoins, il n’est pas rare que les clients en commandent plus d’une paire. Vous n’avez qu’à nous décrire votre mode de vie et l’usage que vous ferez de vos orthèses et nous nous occuperons du reste!

Quelle est la durée de vie des orthèses faites sur mesure?

Cela dépend de votre mode de vie et de l’usage que vous en faites.

Mes assurances couvrent-elles les orthèses faites sur mesure et les chaussures?

Les orthèses, les chaussures appropriées et les modifications ne sont pas toujours couvertes. Le patient peut toutefois avoir droit à un remboursement partiel ou total dans le cas des orthèses et des chaussures prescrites pour corriger un état médical. Veuillez vérifier votre couverture auprès de votre fournisseur de régime d’assurance privé.

Les orthèses font-elles mal aux pieds lorsqu’on commence à les porter?

Non. Les orthèses plantaires ne devraient pas causer de douleur ou aggraver les douleurs existantes. Cependant, comme il faut souvent un peu de temps avant de s’habituer à toute nouvelle chose ou situation, il est donc possible que le port des orthèses semble un peu étrange au début. Mais si vous ressentez une douleur quelconque, il est important que vous preniez contact avec votre spécialiste agréé.

Qu’est-ce qu’un orthésiste certifié du pied?

Oeuvrant au sein d’une équipe intégrée de spécialistes de la santé dans le but de maintenir le haut degré de mobilité chez leurs patients, un orthésiste certifié du pied est un spécialiste dans la construction et la modification des chaussures, les matériaux et la fabrication des orthèses plantaires ainsi que la biomécanique, la physiologie et l’anatomie des membres inférieurs.

Combien coûtent les services d’un orthésiste certifié du pied ?

Les soins d’un orthésiste certifié du pied, lorsqu’ils sont prodigués dès l’apparition du problème de pied, peuvent soulager la douleur et permettre d’éviter une hospitalisation future ou le recours éventuel à la chirurgie. Le coût dépend donc de la chaussure, des modifications et des orthèses requises. Il varie également en fonction de facteurs tels que les matériaux utilisés et la complexité du problème.

Pour en apprendre davantage