Common foot problems

Footech President

Jacques Martin, D.S.S., B.Sc., C.Ped.
President, Footech Inc., Certified Pedorthist

Plantar fasciitis
plantar fasciitisPlantar fasciitis is an inflammatory condition caused by excessive wear to the plantar fascia of the foot. The pain usually is felt on the underside of the heel, and is often most intense with the first steps of the day. It is commonly associated with long periods of weight bearing. Obesity, weight gain, jobs that require a lot of walking on hard surfaces, shoes with little or no arch support and inactivity are also associated with the condition.
Metatarsalgia
MetatarsalgiaMetatarsalgia is a general term used to denote a painful foot condition in the metatarsal region of the foot (the area just before the toes, more commonly referred to as the ball-of-the-foot). This is a common foot disorder that can affect the bones and joints at the ball-of-the-foot. Metatarsalgia (ball-of-foot-pain) is often located under the 2nd, 3rd, and 4th metatarsal heads, or more isolated at the first metatarsal head (near the big toe).
Morton’s Neuroma
Morton's Neuroma Morton's Neuroma is a common foot problem associated with pain, swelling and/or an inflammation of a nerve, usually at the ball-of-the-foot between the 3rd and 4th toes. Symptoms of this condition include sharp pain, burning, and even a lack of feeling in the affected area. Morton's Neuroma may also cause numbness, tingling, or cramping in the forefoot.
Rheumatoid arthritis
Rheumatoid arthritisThere are several forms of arthritis or arthritic type conditions that can affect the joints of the feet and the lower legs. All of which cause pain, inflammation and limited movement of the joints. The most common are: rheumatoid arthritis, osteoarthritis, psoriatic and gout.
Bunions
BunionsBunions (prominent bumps on the inside of the foot around the big toe joint) are one of the most common forefoot problems. This bump is actually a bone protruding towards the inside of the foot. The discomfort commonly causes a patient to walk improperly.
Pes Cavus
Pes CavusThis biomechanical problem is most common in a person with a rigid, high arch, called a cavus foot. This type of foot usually does not pronate (roll inward) enough. As a result, the weight of the body falls only on the heel and bases of the toe, increasing stress on the foot.
Post-tib Tendonitis/rupture
Post-Tib TendonitisPost-Tib Tendonitis is a strain placed on the posterior tibial tendon. This can lead to heel pain, arch pain, plantar fasciitis and/or heel spurs. With post-tib tendonitis, pain will be more severe upon weight bearing, especially while walking or running.
Plantar Ulceration
Plantar UlcerationThe plantar ulcer is a disabling complication commonly occurring in patients with diabetes and leprosy. Due to the loss of pain sensation, the patient has no natural awareness to protect themselves from the dangers that normally cause pain and discomfort.

Note: The above should only be used as a guideline. Each patient’s prescription should be individualized to take into account their particular foot disorder and any underlying medical problems such as diabetes, peripheral vascular disease, etc.

Learn more ... Here's a few articles from our growing knowledgebase

Problèmes courants du pied

Footech President

Jacques Martin, D.S.S., B.Sc., C.Ped.
President, Footech Inc., Certified Pedorthist

Douleur au talon (Fasciite plantaire)
Douleur au talonLa fasciite plantaire est une affection inflammatoire causée par une pression excessive sur le fascia plantaire, l'enveloppe fibreuse du tendon qui forme l'arche du pied et soutient et protège le tendon de la plante du pied. La douleur, habituellement ressentie sous le talon et de façon plus intense en début de journée, peut aussi se manifester après une période prolongée d’activité physique. L’obésité, la prise de poids, la marche ou la station debout prolongée sur les surfaces dures, les chaussures sans support ou avec un support minime pour la voûte plantaire, de même que l’inactivité sont des causes associées à cette pathologie.
Métatarsalgie (douleur à la plante du pied)
MétatarsalgieLa métatarsalgie est un problème courant du pied qui peut toucher à la fois les os et les articulations à la plante du pied. La métatarsalgie se situe souvent sous la tête des 2e, 3e et 4e métatarsiens ou, de façon plus isolée, à la tête du 1er métatarsien (près du gros orteil).
Névrome de Morton (douleur à la plante du pied)
Névrome de MortonLe névrome de Morton est un problème de pied fréquent que l’on associe avec de la douleur et avec l’enflure ou l’inflammation d’un nerf, souvent à la plante du pied. Les symptômes de cette affection sont notamment une douleur vive, une sensation de brûlure et même une insensibilité dans la région touchée. Le névrome de Morton peut également entraîner un engourdissement, des fourmillements ou des crampes dans l’avant-pied.
Polyarthrite rhumatoïde
Polyarthrite rhumatoïdeIl existe plusieurs formes d’arthrite ou d’affections de type arthritique qui peuvent toucher les articulations du pied et de la jambe. Toutes ces affections causent de la douleur, de l’inflammation et une limitation des mouvements dans les articulations. Les affections les plus courantes sont la polyarthrite rhumatoïde, l’arthrose, le rhumatisme psoriasique et la goutte.
Oignons
OignonsLes oignons (bosses proéminentes à l’intérieur du pied à l’articulation du gros orteil) sont l’un des problèmes de l’avant-pied les plus fréquents. Ces bosses sont en fait des os qui se retournent vers l’intérieur. En général, le patient adopte une démarche inadéquate à cause de la douleur associée à ce problème.
Pieds creux
Pieds creuxCe problème biomécanique est plus fréquent chez les personnes qui ont une voûte élevée et rigide. Ce type de pied ne peut habituellement pas plier normalement vers le bas. Le poids du corps repose alors sur le talon et à la base des orteils, augmentant ainsi la pression sur le pied.
Tendinite du tibial postérieur
Tendinite du tibial postérieurLa tendinite du tibial postérieur est une inflammation du tendon tibial postérieur qui peut causer de la douleur au talon ou à la voûte, une fasciite plantaire ou une épine calcanéenne. La douleur est plus intense lorsque la personne pratique des activités telles que la course à pied et la marche.
Ulcères aux pieds
Ulcères aux piedsLes ulcères plantaires sont des complications invalidantes que l’on retrouve généralement chez les patients diabétiques. Comme le patient ne ressent plus la douleur, il n’a pas le réflexe naturel de se protéger contre les dangers qui causent normalement de la douleur et des malaises.

Nota : Les renseignements ci-dessus ne doivent être utilisés qu’à titre de lignes directrices. L’ordonnance de chaque patient doit être personnalisée afin de tenir compte de son problème précis du pied et de tout problème médical sous-jacent tel que le diabète, les maladies vasculaires périphériques, etc.

Pour en apprendre davantage